Donovan's Station (Robin McGrath) unabridged fiction audiobook

Donovan's Station, a novel by Robin McGrath
Narrated by Merrill Francis, Holly Hogan, Andy Jones, Liz Pickard, Janet Russell, and Janis Spence

Listening Time: roughly 6 hours
10-digit ISBN: 0-9734223-2-7
13-digit ISBN: 978-0-9734223-2-0
Concertina and harmonica played by John Joy

“Eighty-four years is time enough for one life,” Keziah Donovan muses as she waits for death to reunite her with her “own sweet man.” Stricken by a paralytic stroke, Keziah’s body is immobile but her mind is on a journey through a life that spans two centuries. The reader is carried along on this journey by her rich inner narrative, through the tumultuous public history of eight decades and the equally turbulent events of her own personal history—births, marriages, deaths and other mysteries.

Set in rural and urban Newfoundland, this novel is alive with landscape and language. In Keziah Donovan, award-winning writer Robin McGrath has created an unforgettable story-teller with a voice so authentic and distinctive that it compels the reader to sit and listen, and rings in the ear long after its last syllables die away.


Life in a late nineteenth-century Newfoundland fishing village is one of brutality and small joys. Janis Spence, the main narrator, gives both a wistful quality as Keziah Donovan looks back on her life from her deathbed. Other readers portray supporting characters as they write letters or diary entries. These narrators sound as if they’re talking to themselves while they write, with pen scratches in the background. The whole cast gives a quietly human performance. Bits of accordion and harmonica music add to the book’s simplicity.

—AudioFile magazine

This unabridged Canadian audiobook was produced by Rattling Books in Newfoundland and Labrador.