Strange Boutique - The Loved One - Full Album

Featuring Monica Richards (Faith and the Muse) on vocals, Strange Boutique rose out of the ashes of the Washington harDCore punk scene with a unique sense of song-writing, which crossed barriers and broke new ground in post-punk/alternative music. As the best kept secret of the 80's and early 90's, Strange Boutique created their very own eclectic brand of powerful, guitar-driven ethereal rock. This is their first full-length album,  released in 1991, and greeted with the early "doom and gloom" reviews though years after Goth was in its heyday, it has been viewed more as shoegaze, heavenly rock music.
TRACKLISTING (Bonus Tracks*)
  1. Terpsichore
  2. Quicksand Minds
  3. We Treat the Blindness
  4. Remedios the Beauty
  5. A Certain Euphoria
  6. A Happy Death
  7. De Milo
  8. The Flatterer
  9. Drown
  10. Black Sun
  11. *Feast Your Eye
  12. *Song from Under the Floorboards

"Strange Boutique was the most visually arresting of the night, displaying an affection and talent for British-inspired dark psychedelia. Stomping and swooping around the stage, singer Monica Richards intoned like a tough Kate Bush while the band constructed massive melodies behind her." - The Washington Post - 1991
Powered by