MW705 Los Angeles Jazz Quartet - Family Song

Hi-Fi Download (flac format) from Not Two Records.

1. Family Song [07:47]
2. Briggs [09:48]
3. Message From Roit [07:59]
4. Resurgence [07:27]
5. Winding Road [06:32]
6. A Tear From New York [08:52]
7. The Honeymoon [05:12]
8. Rachel And Sarah [06:28]

Chuck Manning - tenor & soprano saxophone
Larry Koonse - guitar
Darek 'Oles' Oleszkiewicz - bass
Kevin Tullis - drums

Engaging in group improvisation for "Briggs," the quartet lights solemn fires. It’s a unique piece with equal input from the quartet’s four members. Also containing a fair amount of drama is "Resurgence," an up-tempo piece in the hard bop idiom with off-kilter bass work. Manning and Koonse stretch out considerably. Four ballads emphasize the quartet’s penchant for melodic beauty: "Family Song," "Winding Road," in memory of bassist Eric von Essen, "Rachel and Sarah," dedicated to Koonse’s young daughters, and "A Tear from New York." Up-tempo swingers "The Honeymoon" and "Message from Roit" pick things up with a walking bass, ride cymbal, and foot tappin’ energy. Each artist pumps something extra into the formula: a subtle change in the harmony by guitar, a brief rudimentary snare drum fill, or a bass double-stop. The LAJQ is carrying on the tradition of classic acoustic mainstream jazz while incorporating original compositions and spontaneous thoughts.
(Jim Santella, AllAboutJazz)